Skip to main content
COVID-19 Alert Level 3

At Alert Level 3: Step 1 you can travel throughout Auckland for exercise and recreation outdoors. Our early childhood centres are open for enrolled children only.

Customer-facing facilities like leisure centres, community venues, customer service centres and libraries will remain closed until further notice. Essential services will continue.

Wear a face covering, use the NZ COVID Tracer app, maintain a 2m physical distance, wash your hands, and stay home if you are sick.

For the information about council services and closures, visit the COVID-19 section

To learn more about Auckland Council's response to COVID-19, visit OurAuckland


Water restrictions in Auckland - Water restrictions are in effect across the Auckland region. Learn more

Komiti Ārai Tūmatanui me te Toko Raru Ohorere

Civil Defence and Emergency Management Committee

​What the Civil Defence and Emergency Management Committee does

This is a statutory committee required under S12(1) of the Civil Defence and Emergency Management Act 2002.

The committee is responsible for being Auckland's strategic forum for civil defence and emergency management planning and policy, and establishing an emergency management structure for the Auckland region.


Cr Sharon Stewart 

Deputy Chairperson

Cr Wayne Walker 


Cr Efeso Collins 

Cr John Watson

Cr Tracy Mulholland  

Independent Māori Statutory Board member

Glenn Wilcox

Terrence (Mook) Hohneck

Governance Advisor

Sonja Tomovska

021 615 961


See dates and times of meetings in the current year.

See agendas and minutes of past meetings.