Skip to main content

Ngā ture e tiaki ana i tō tātou tuku ihotanga

Legislation that protects our heritage

Resource Management Act (1991)

The key piece of legislation that provides protection for heritage is the Resource Management Act (1991).

The Auckland Unitary Plan was prepared under this act and it guides how land can be used and developed.

Other laws that protect our heritage

Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga Act (2014)

Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga Act (2014) guides Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga and promotes the identification and protection of heritage of New Zealand.

The act provides for heritage covenants, prohibits the modification or destruction of an archaeological site unless an authority is obtained and provides for the New Zealand Heritage List/Rārangi Kōrero and the National Historic Landmarks/Ngā Manawhenua o Aotearoa me ōna Kōrero Tūturu as a means for recognising heritage values.

The Conservation Act (1987)

The Conservation Act (1987) guides the Department of Conservation and promotes the conservation of New Zealand's natural and historic resources.

The Reserves Act (1977)

The Reserves Act (1977) guides the classification and management of reserves for a range of purposes, including protection.

The Protected Objects Act (1975)

The Protected Objects Act (1975) , administered by the Ministry for Culture and Heritage, regulates the export of protected New Zealand objects, the illegal export and import of protected New Zealand and foreign objects, and the sale, trade and ownership of objects relating to Māori culture.

Waitākere Ranges Heritage Area Act (2008)

Waitākere Ranges Heritage Area Act (2008) establishes the Waitākere Ranges Heritage Area.

Its purpose is to recognise the significance of the area and to promote protection and enhancement.

Hauraki Gulf Marine Park Act (2000)

Hauraki Gulf Marine Park Act (2000) provides special recognition for the Hauraki Gulf, its islands and catchments.