Skip to main content
Auckland Council

Notice of day of by-elections - Maungakiekie-Tāmaki Ward, Manurewa Local Board, Waitematā Local Board

Public notice date: 08 January 2018

Closing date and time: 28 February 2018, 12 a.m.

As a result of resignations, extraordinary vacancies have occurred in the Maungakiekie-Tāmaki Ward, Manurewa Local Board and Waitematā Local Board.

Notice is given under section 65 of the Local Electoral Act 2001, that the following persons have been duly nominated as candidates for:

Maungakiekie-Tāmaki Ward (one vacancy)
BARTLEY, Josephine (Labour)
BEDDELL, Josh (C&R/Auckland Future)

Manurewa Local Board (one vacancy)
BAI, Jokaveti Nakabea
BAILEY, Michael (Independent)
HALL, John (Independent)
LOADER, Brooke (Labour)
PIZZINI, Dave (Manurewa Action Team)

Waitematā Local Board (one vacancy)
AVERY, Morgan (Independent)
HUNG, Chang (Independent)
MATSON, Allan (Independent)
MOYLE, Greg (Balance the Board)
ROCHE, Denise (City Vision)

As there are more candidates than there are vacancies to be filled, elections will be held between the above candidates on Saturday 17 February 2018 by postal vote, under the first past the post electoral system.

Issue of voting documents

Voting documents will be posted to electors in the above respective areas from Friday 26 January 2018.

Return of voting documents

Voting documents must be returned no later than noon, Saturday 17 February 2018 to the electoral officer, Auckland Council.

Voting documents can be returned by post or hand delivered at the following council offices and libraries between Friday 26 January 2018 and Friday 16 February 2018 during normal office hours, and Saturday 17 February 2018 between 9am and 12 noon:

  • Electoral Office, Level 2, 198 Federal Street, Auckland
  • Bledisloe Lane Service Centre, Ground Floor, Bledisloe House, 24 Wellesley Street (not open 17 February 2018)
  • Manukau Service Centre, 4 Osterley Way, Manukau
  • Glen Innes Community Library, 108 Line Road, Glen Innes
  • Manukau Centre Library, 3 Osterley Way, Manukau
  • Onehunga Community Library, 85 Church Street, Onehunga
  • Panmure Library, 7-13 Pilkington Road, Panmure
  • Te Matariki Library, 17 Palmers Road, Manukau
  • Manurewa Library, 7 Hill Road, Manurewa
  • Central City Library, 44-46 Lorne Street, Auckland
  • Leys Institute Community Library, 20 St Marys Road, St Marys Bay, Auckland
  • Grey Lynn Library, 474 Great North Road, Grey Lynn
  • Parnell Library, 545 Parnell Road, Parnell

Special voting

Special voting in terms of the Local Electoral Act 2001 and the Local Electoral Regulations 2001 may be exercised at the above times and following locations:

  • Electoral Office, Level 2, 198 Federal Street, Auckland
  • Manukau Service Centre, 4 Osterley Way, Manukau;
  • or by phoning (09) 973 5212 where one will be posted out.

A person can apply to enrol as either a residential or ratepayer elector up to and including 16 February 2018 - the day before the close of voting.

Order of candidate names

Candidate names will appear in alphabetical order on the voting documents pursuant to regulation 31 of the Local Electoral Regulations 2001.

Dated at Auckland, 30 December 2017

Dale Ofsoske,
Electoral Officer
Auckland Council
Phone 09 973 5212