Skip to main content
Auckland Council The Auckland Plan

Ngā hapū me ngā iwi o Tāmaki Makaurau

The hapū and iwi of Tāmaki Makaurau

Māori hold a special place in the identity and life of New Zealand through a partnership between Māori and the Crown under the Te Tiriti o Waitangi/the Treaty of Waitangi (Te Tiriti).

Auckland Council recognises 19 iwi authorities.

These are:

  • Ngāti Wai
  • Ngāti Manuhiri
  • Ngāti Rehua Ngāti Wai ki Aotea
  • Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Whātua
  • Te Uri o Hau
  • Ngāti Whātua o Kaipara
  • Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei
  • Te Kawerau ā Maki
  • Ngāti Tamaoho
  • Te Ākitai Waiohua
  • Ngāi Tai ki Tāmaki
  • Ngāti Te Ata Waiohua
  • Te Ahiwaru Waiohua
  • Waikato-Tainui
  • Ngāti Paoa
  • Ngāti Whanaunga
  • Ngāti Maru
  • Ngāti Tamaterā
  • Te Patukirikiri.

The place of Māori in Auckland gives Auckland its point of difference from the rest of the world.

The Crown has settled or is currently negotiating settlement for historical te Tiriti claims throughout Auckland.

The process provides for historical, cultural and commercial redress to individual mana whenua groups, and collective co-governance arrangements over certain natural resources.

Settlement will give opportunities for the mana whenua of Auckland but will also give opportunities for iwi outside of Auckland to invest in the region.

You can zoom into areas of the map and click on the icons for more information.

Political structures will evolve within Auckland as the model of co-governance is refined and te Tiriti settlements call for new arrangements.

Whanaungatanga, or building relationships through sharing experiences and working together, provides a strong basis for an intercultural Auckland.