Whau Local Board


About the Whau area

The Whau Local Board comprises the suburbs of New Lynn, Green Bay and Kelston, Rosebank, Avondale, New Windsor and Blockhouse Bay. The name Whau is from the estuarine arm of the Waitemata Harbour, which extends into the area.

The southern area is primarily residential with many local schools, and there are significant industrial areas in Kelston and along the Rosebank Peninsula. New Lynn is the primary retail shopping area, with Avondale providing a secondary site nearby.

The continuing extensive regeneration of the New Lynn town centre includes a major upgrade of rail facilities and transport improvements. The regeneration  is a project dating back to 1992, with considerable community engagement. The current work is therefore the culmination of over 18 years of planning and engagement.

Local initiatives include business area improvements such as the Rosebank Business Precinct Plan, open space initiatives and local community group support.

Transport has always been a major issue in the area. It is one of the narrowest parts of the isthmus and both Maori and Pakeha had portage routes between the harbours, and therefore between the Tasman Sea and the Pacific Ocean.

The Whau local board is ethnically diverse, with populations in the area including European (44 per cent), Asian (32 per cent), Pacific peoples (18 per cent) and Maori (9 per cent).

back to top


Whau Ward and Local Board map.
Click on the map to enlarge

or Whau Ward and Local Board map (PDF 761kb)

back to top

Your feedback helps us to improve our website. If you have feedback about our services (not the website), please contact us.