Your mayor and representatives

Advisory panel for art in public places

Advisory panel for art in public places

The Advisory Panel for Art in Public Places, Auckland (APAPPA) was established in 2014 to assist the council with planning arts projects and programmes in public places.

The panel was not politically appointed, though its advice may be provided to elected representatives by council officers.

Panel members have a variety of arts, culture, architectural and urban design backgrounds. These include Nga Toi Māori (Māori arts knowledge, wisdom and understanding).

The panel provides expert advice and recommendations required by the council's Public Art Policy on a wide range of arts activity, including:

  • the art in public places annual work programme
  • council strategies to integrate art into major built environment projects and precinct and town centre upgrades
  • proposals and gift offers – whether generated internally or externally – for permanent works of art across the Auckland region.

Appointments and terms

The panel has between seven and nine members who are appointed for a term of three years. The panel elects its own chair and meets up to five times per year.

Appointments are made following expressions of interest, consultation with cross department management and an in-person interview.

Panel members are paid the council's standard panel meeting rate and travel allowance.

Panel members

Email the public art team for more information or to contact APAPPA members.

Ross Liew (Chair)

Ross Liew

Ross' background is in art, design, photography and education. He has been an exhibiting artist for 15 years.

His primary focus is the role of public space as a platform for creating and viewing art.

He founded Cut Collective in 2006, a group of artists who prioritise the creation of accessible art experiences for audiences outside galleries or institutional settings.

Ross works as an independent curator for the mural festivals Graffiato and All Fresco. He has coordinated the art programme for the Splore Festival for the last two years.

Ross has also curated projects for Red Bull, Te Tuhi, St Paul St Galleries, the New Dowse, Auckland Art Gallery, Waterfront Auckland and the Dunedin Public Art Gallery.

Ross is currently coordinating public art programmes for the Whau, Henderson-Massey and Waitakere Ranges local boards.

Douglas Lloyd Jenkins (MNZM)

Douglas Lloyd Jenkins

Douglas is an award winning writer and critic.

He is a well-known commentator on all aspects of architecture, design and art, having previously written columns in New Zealand Herald and New Zealand Listener.

His book "At Home: A Century of New Zealand Design" won the Montana Medal for Non-fiction in 2005 .

"The Dress Circle: New Zealand fashion design since 1940", which he co-authored, was shortlisted for the same prize.

In 2008 he was awarded Member Order of New Zealand Merit: Contribution to Architecture and Design. In 2009 The New Zealand Institute of Architects awarded him its President’s Award for contribution to architecture.

Douglas has a background in museum management having recently overseen the redevelopment of the MTG Hawke's Bay in Napier.

Leon Tan (PhD, MHSc)

Leon Tan

Leon is an art and culture historian (PhD, Auck), critic, artist, educator and registered psychotherapist.

He researches and publishes works on contemporary art, public art, globalization, digital culture, social activism and mental health. He advises artists and arts organizations, and is a member of the International Association of Art Critics.

As consultant for the first and second International Awards for Public Art (IAPA), he nominated and reviewed exemplary cases of public art in South America, Europe, Asia, Africa and the Pacific, including several projects shortlisted by the jurors, and the winner of the second IAPA (2015).

He is a senior lecturer at Unitec, where he leads the Master of Design programme.

Patrick Reynolds

Patrick Reynolds

Patrick is an Auckland based photographer specialising in the built environment.

He is known for his expressive work included in collections like Te Papa Tongarewa Museum of New Zealand and the Auckland Art Gallery.

His architectural work can be seen in leading publications and a series of substantial illustrated books.

This focus on the quality of our urban realm has lead to Patrick teaching Urban Design at the School of Architecture and Planning at the University of Auckland.

He also joined the editorial team at the Transportblog website, the country’s leading online resource for understanding the forces at work in our cities, particularly Auckland.

Rau Hoskins (BArch, MArch hons.)

Rau Hoskins

Ngā Puhi, Ngāti Wai, Ngāti Hau

Rau works as a practitioner and educator of Māori architecture.

He has 24 years experience in kaupapa Māori design skills, urban design, research, Māori housing and Maori cultural, health and educational design consultancy.

Rau is a part-time lecturer at the Unitec New Zealand Department of Architecture and coordinates Te Hononga, The Centre for Māori Architecture and Appropriate Technologies.

He co-authored the Te Aranga Stategy 2006 and is former chairperson of Ngā Aho – the network of Māori design professionals established in 2009.

He has also been an Auckland Council urban design panel member since 2012.

Rose Evans (BA, BAppSc, MA)

Rose Evans

Rose is of Te Atiawa and European descent. She has over 20 years of experience in a variety of major international and national museums and galleries.

These include Te Papa Tongarewa Museum of New Zealand, Australian War Memorial Museum, Australian Museum and the British Museum.

Rose has a broad range of skills in exhibition development, project management, museum and art gallery facilities assessment, collection care and research.

In 2012 she set up her consultancy Objectlab to work collaboratively with others to develop and deliver many multi-sourced, creatively rich project solutions within the cultural sector.

Rose was recently appointed to the Arts Council, Creative New Zealand. She was formerly Trustee for Michael King Writers Centre and Te Maori Manaaki Taonga Trust.

Simon van Praag

Simon Van Praag

Simon van Praag is director of Auckland place making company Fresh Concept.

The company leads the development and delivery of significant activation in public spaces for private and public sector organisations.

He has a background in temporary and permanent public place projects, consultancy and strategy within hospitality and public policy.

Simon has a history of successful place-making, business and events. He has a keen interest in how individuals and communities engage with their surroundings.

He considers the use of programming to reach members of different ethnic and socio economic communities, in the creative and planning process.

Stuart Niven (BArch, MA Urban Design)

Stuart Niven

Stuart Niven is an urban designer with 28 years experience in private practice consultancy in local and central government.

He is the principal of his own urban design consultancy (Stuart Niven Urban Design), based in Melbourne, Australia.

Stuart pioneered urban design practice, and urban design as a recognised body of professional expertise in New Zealand throughout the 1980s and 1990s.

He was also the first urban designer appointed to a New Zealand local government agency (Wellington, 1992-1999).

He has been a project establishment leader and a principal urban design advisor to the Auckland Public Waterfront Project. He has also had recent involvement with the re-establishment of the quake-devastated retail centre of central Christchurch.

Your feedback helps us to improve our website. If you have feedback about our services (not the website), please contact us.