Skip to main content
Auckland CouncilVote Auckland

He kōrero mō ngā poari kaitiaki raihana ā-waipiro

About licensing trusts

What licensing trusts are

Licensing trusts were established in the 1960s and 70s as a community initiative to control the sale of alcohol.

They have privileges under the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012 to sell alcohol responsibly in their trust areas through:

  • hotels
  • taverns
  • off-licences.

They also decide how surplus profits are returned to the community through:

  • grants
  • rebates to clubs
  • sponsorships
  • other community activities.

The community elects trustees to govern these trusts. These trustees act as the community's voice and are an essential link between the community and trust operations.

What licensing trusts do

The trusts are accountable to the public to:

  • ensure that liquor is sold responsibly and with integrity
  • run a profitable and successful business that benefits the local community
  • be appropriately responsive to community needs and feedback. Trustees meet every month to review the operations and businesses of the trusts.

In addition, trustees also make recommendations to the Trusts Community Foundation Ltd (TTCF) on where gaming proceeds should be distributed within their area.

The Trusts Community Foundation operates gaming machines and has the final say on how grant money from gaming is allocated.

Where licensing trusts are located

There are five licensing trusts in the Auckland region.

East Auckland

Map of Mt Wellington licensing trust area.

North Auckland

Map of Birkenhead licensing trust area. 

South Auckland

  • The Wiri Licensing Trust area is more or less is bounded by the Southern Motorway, the Manukau Harbour and Puhinui Road.

Map of Wiri licensing trust area. 

West Auckland

  • The Portage Licensing Trust - covers the communities between New Lynn, Waikumete Cemetery, Glen Eden, Titirangi, through to Whatipu Beach.

Map of Portage Licensing Trust area.

Map of Waitākere licensing trust area. 

How many trustees are elected to each trust

Birkenhead Licensing Trust

Six trustees will be elected from across the Birkenhead Licensing Trust district.

Mount Wellington Licensing Trust

Six trustees will be elected from across the Mt Wellington Licensing Trust district.

The Portage Licensing Trust

10 trustees will be elected as follows:

  • Ward No 1 (Auckland City) - 3 trustees
  • Ward No 2 (New Lynn) - 2 trustees
  • Ward No 3 (Glen Eden) - 2 trustees
  • Ward No 4 (Titirangi/Green Bay) - 2 trustees
  • Ward No 5 (Kelston West) - 1 trustee.

The Waitākere Licensing Trust

Seven trustees will be elected as follows:

  • Ward No 1 (Te Atatū) - 2 trustees
  • Ward No 2 (Lincoln) - 3 trustees
  • Ward No 3 (Waitākere) - 1 trustee
  • Ward No 4 (Henderson) - 1 trustee.

Wiri Licensing Trust

Six trustees will be elected from across the Wiri Licensing Trust district.

Who can be nominated and who you can vote for

If you live in a licensing trust district, you can be nominated as a candidate for that area.

You can only vote for the trustees in the district in which you live.

Who can not be nominated for a licensing trust

Some people are not eligible to run as a licensing trust nominee, those who:

  • are involved in the alcohol industry
  • do not live in the licensing trust or licensing trust ward they are running for.

Read more under section 322 of the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012.

More information

Contact the electoral officer by email at or by phoning 09 973 5212 or 0800 922 822.

 Related topics