Skip to main content
Auckland Council

Rural Advisory Panel

Te Rōpū Kaitohutohu Take ā-Taiwhenua

​What the panel does

The Rural Advisory Panel advises the council on policies and plans specific to the rural sector. It also communicates shared rural sector interests to the council, and contributes to the rural outcomes of the Auckland Plan, and how rural areas are to be managed in the Unitary Plan.

Members of the panel

Members include representatives of the rural industries of Auckland alongside two councillors and three local board members from Franklin, Rodney and Waitākere Ranges local board areas.

  • Bill Cashmore - deputy mayor, Franklin Ward councillor (chair)
  • Greg Sayers - Rodney Ward councillor (deputy chair)
  • Alan Cole - Franklin Local Board
  • Andy Baker - Franklin Local Board alternate
  • Brenda Steele - Rodney Local Board
  • Colin Smith - Rodney Local Board alternate
  • Neil Henderson - Waitākere Ranges Local Board
  • Glenn Wilcox - Independent Māori Statutory Board
  • Andrew Maclean - Federated Farmers
  • Leeann Morgan - Young Farmers
  • Greg McCracken - Fonterra
  • Andrew McKenzie - Beef and Lamb New Zealand
  • Helen Moodie - Dairy New Zealand
  • Roger Parton - Rural Contractors New Zealand
  • Steve Levet - Rural Contractors New Zealand
  • Peter Spencer - New Zealand Forest Owners Association
  • Trish Fordyce - New Zealand Forest Owners Association
  • Marie Appleton - Rural Women New Zealand
  • Bronwen Turner - Western Rural Property Owners
  • Keith Vallabh - Pukekohe Vegetable Growers Association
  • Geoff Smith - equine industry

Meetings of the panel

The Rural Advisory Panel holds scheduled meetings every two months.

Scheduled meetings are open to the public.

For dates, agendas and minutes, see agendas and minutes.

Get in touch with the panel

To attend or present at a meeting of the Rural Advisory Panel, or find more information, contact us.