Te Tiriti o Waitangi

​Treaty principles and Auckland Council

Auckland Council is a delegate of the Crown exercising powers of local government in Auckland. It has statutory obligations to Māori in order to recognise and respect the Crown's responsibility to take appropriate account of the principles of the Treaty.

The Treaty is articulated in law through an evolving set of principles.

Treaty principles have been expressed and recognised through a range of courts and the Waitangi Tribunal. They are not exhaustive, and it is recognised that other principles may be developed with time.

They must be considered holistically rather than separately due to the overlaps and synergies between them.

The following principles are relevant to local government:

  • partnership
  • active protection
  • rangatiratanga
  • reciprocity
  • mutual benefit
  • options
  • right of development
  • redress
  • informed decision making.

Te Tiriti / the Treaty is a guide for how Auckland Council fosters more positive and productive relationships with Auckland's Māori.

Auckland Council's Māori Responsiveness Framework

Whiria Te Muka Tangata is Auckland Council's Māori Responsiveness Framework. It brings together the council's commitments and obligations to Māori. This enables Auckland Council to ensure that it considers how its policies and actions recognise and protect Māori rights and interests, and contribute to Māori needs and aspirations.

The Independent Māori Statutory Board was established in Auckland and has specific responsibilities and powers under the Local Government (Auckland Council) Amendment Act 2010.

The board’s mission is to advance the interests of Māori in Tāmaki Makaurau by:

  • helping Auckland Council to make decisions, perform functions and exercise powers that improve outcomes for Māori
  • promoting cultural, economic, environmental, and social issues of significance to Māori.

The board also ensures that Auckland Council follows statutory provisions relating to Te Tiriti o Waitangi.

Find out more about the Treaty of Waitangi.