Ā mātou takohanga

Our commitments

​Auckland Council is committed to reducing emissions and ensuring our region is resilient to the impacts of climate change.

Auckland Council first committed to significant emissions reductions in 2012, and now we’re scaling up our commitments alongside the growing ambitions of cities, businesses and governments globally.

The principles of Te Tiriti o Waitangi are foundational to our commitments to climate action.

Timeline of our commitments

Auckland’s climate response is also directed by several international, national and regional commitments and legislative instruments.

We continue to update our climate response as these commitments evolve.

International commitments

  • United Nations Framework Convention for Climate Change
  • Paris Agreement
  • The Sustainable Development Goals
  • C40 Cities.

Find out more about our international commitments.

National commitments

  • Climate Change Response Act 2002 and the Zero Carbon Amendment Act 2019
  • New Zealand Climate Leaders Coalition.

Find out more about our national commitments.

Regional commitments

  • The Auckland Plan 2050
  • The Māori Plan.

Find out more about our regional commitments.