Skip to main content
Auckland Council Local body elections

About wards and local boards

When Auckland's eight former councils were merged into a single "Super City" in 2010, the Auckland region was divided into 13 wards and 21 local boards. From these 13 wards, 20 councillors are elected. Together with the mayor, they make regional decisions as the Governing Body. We also elect between five and nine local board members for each local board area, depending on its size and population.

​How wards and local boards are arranged

When looking at representation arrangements, we must ensure that the residents of any wards or local boards and their subdivisions receive fair representation.

This relates to the population of each ward and subdivision compared to the number of elected representatives.

The ratio should be no more than 10 per cent greater or smaller than the average.

Election on a ward basis for members of the Governing Body and on a subdivision basis for local boards ensures there is an even spread of members from throughout the city, preventing a majority being elected from within the same area.

We may propose a scheme that does not comply with the ratio required for fair representation in certain circumstances, including where:

  • non-compliance is needed to ensure effective representation of communities of interest within island or isolated communities
  • compliance would limit effective representation of communities of interest within the district, for example the rural wards of Rodney and Franklin.

How often we review ward boundaries

We are required to review ward boundaries every six years to ensure fair and effective representation.

As a result, we may change ward boundaries to reflect any significant changes in population to achieve a fair ratio of how many elected members represent their respective communities.

What local boards do

Within each ward boundary, you can find anywhere between one and three local boards. In some circumstances there are subdivisions within a local board to ensure there is an even spread of elected members from throughout the area.

Local boards are accountable to the community for their allocated and statutory decision-making.

Local boards make decisions on:

  • local matters
    provide local leadership
  • enable strong local communities.

They also provide input into regional:

  • strategies
  • policies
  • plans
  • decisions.

A full list of our wards and local boards

Albany Ward

There are two local boards within Albany Ward: Hibiscus and Bays and Upper Harbour.

Albany Ward also has two sub-divisions: Hibiscus Coast and East Coast Bays.

Albert-Eden-Puketāpapa Ward

The Albert-Eden-Puketāpapa Ward overlaps with areas in the Albert-Eden Local Board, Puketāpapa Local Board, a part of Newton in the Waitematā Local Board and an area close to Royal Oak in the Maungakiekie-Tāmaki Local Board area.

Franklin Ward

The Franklin Ward overlaps with the Franklin Local Board and its three subdivisions: Wairoa, Pukekohe, and Waiuku.

Howick Ward

The Howick Ward overlaps with the Howick Local Board and its three subdivisions: Howick, Pakuranga, and Botany.

Manukau Ward

There are two local boards within the Manukau Ward: Māngere-Ōtāhuhu and Ōtara-Papatoetoe.

Manukau Ward also has two subdivisions: Otara and Papatoetoe.

Manurewa-Papakura Ward

There are two local boards found within Manurewa-Papakura Ward, Manurewa Ward and Papakura Ward.

Maungakiekie-Tāmaki Ward

Maungakiekie-Tāmaki Ward overlaps with the Maungakiekie-Tāmaki Local Board area.

Parts of Ellerslie and St Johns, in the Ōrākei Local Board area, are also covered by this ward.

North Shore Ward

There are two local boards within the North Shore Ward: Kaipātiki and Devonport-Takapuna.

Ōrākei Ward

The Ōrākei ward overlaps with the Ōrākei Local Board area. It also includes Parnell, Newmarket, and Grafton in the Waitematā Local Board area.

Rodney Ward

There is one local board within the Rodney Ward: Rodney Local Board.

It also has four subdivisions: Wellsford, Warkworth, Dairy Flat, and Kumeū.

Waitākere Ward

There are two local boards within the Waitākere Ward area: Henderson-Massey and Waitākere Ranges.

Waitematā and Gulf Ward

The Waitematā and Gulf Ward overlaps with the Waitematā Local Board area. It also covers parts of the Waiheke and Aotea Great Barrier Local Board areas.

Whau Ward

The Whau area is served by Whau Local Board.

The Whau Local Board area comprises the suburbs of New Lynn, Green Bay, Kelston, Rosebank, Avondale, New Windsor, and Blockhouse Bay.

 Related topics



Auckland Council explained Council explainedFind out how decision-making at Auckland Council is shared between the Governing Body and 21 local boards, and watch a video of how council works.aspxElections
About local boards local boardsFind out what local boards are, their responsibilities, documents and processes.aspxLocal boards
Find your local board your local boardFind your local board by searching your address.aspxLocal boards
About the Governing Body the Governing BodyFind out what our Governing Body is, and what it does.aspxGoverning Body
About wards wardsAuckland has been split into 13 wards, from which 20 ward councillors are elected to the governing body of Auckland Council. aspxWards
Ward councillors councillors Councillor contact details for each of Auckland's 13 wards. aspxWards