Skip to main content
COVID-19 Orange setting

For information about our services and facilities restrictions during the protection framework settings, see the COVID-19 section

For up-to-date information on COVID-19, visit covid-19.govt.nz

Candidate nominations for the Local elections 2022 close at 12 noon on Friday 12 August 2022.
More Download the nomination forms. Learn moreCandidate nominations for the Local elections 2022 close at 12 noon on Friday 12 August 2022.

Ngā tāpuitanga me te wāteatanga mō

Ōrākei Basin bookings and public availability

Ōrākei Basin public availability

The basin is closed to the public when it is booked by the Auckland Water Ski Club. The dates it is booked are listed on this page.

At all other times, motorised vessels are only permitted on Ōrākei Basin if towing water skiers.

For more information, see the Harbourmaster section of the Auckland Transport website.

Auckland Water Ski Club bookings

October 2022

​Day ​Time Reason for closure​ Area of basin being used​
​Saturday 8 October 2022 8am-12pm ​Ski training Whole basin
​Sunday 9 October 2022 9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Saturday 15 October 2022 8am-12pm ​AWSC Starter Ski School ​Whole basin
​Sunday 16 October 2022 9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Wednesday 19 October 2022 ​4pm-8pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Saturday 22 October 2022 ​8am-12pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Sunday 23 October 2022 9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Wednesday 26 October 2022 ​4pm-8pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Saturday 29 October 2022 8am-12pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Sunday 30 October 2022 ​9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin

November 2022

​Day ​Time Reason for closure​ Area of basin being used​
​Wednesday 2 November 2022 4pm-8pm ​Ski training Whole basin
​Saturday 5 November 2022 Full day Waka Ama ​Whole basin
​Sunday 6 November 2022 Full day Waka Ama ​Whole basin
​Wednesday 9 November 2022 ​4pm-8pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Saturday 12 November 2022 Full day Summer Series Round 1 ​Whole basin
​Sunday 13 November 2022 ​9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Wednesday 16 November 2022 ​4pm-8pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Saturday 19 November 2022 ​8am-12pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Sunday 20 November 2022 ​9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Wednesday 23 November 2022 ​4pm-8pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Saturday 26 November 2022 ​8am-12pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Sunday 27 November 2022 ​9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Wednesday 23 November 2022 ​4pm-8pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin

December 2022

​Day ​Time Reason for closure​ Area of basin being used​
​Friday 2 December 2022 ​Full day ​Tournament familiarisation ​Whole basin

​Saturday 3 December 2022

Full day Auckland Season Starter (STJ) Whole basin
​Sunday 4 December 2022 Full day ​Auckland Season Starter (STJ) ​Whole basin
​Wednesday 7 December 2022 4pm-8pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Saturday 10 December 2022 Full day Summer Series Round 2 ​Whole basin
​Sunday 11 December 2022 ​9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Wednesday 14 December 2022 4pm-8pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Saturday 17 December 2022 8am-12pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Sunday 18 December 2022 ​9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin

January 2023

​Day ​Time Reason for closure​ Area of basin being used​
​Saturday 14 January 2023 8am-12pm ​Ski training Whole basin
​Sunday 15 January 2023 9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Wednesday 18 January 2023 4pm-8pm​ ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Saturday 21 January 2023 8am-12pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Sunday 22 January 2023 9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Wednesday 25 January 2023 ​4pm-8pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Saturday 28 January 2023 ​8am-12pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Sunday 29 January 2023 9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Tuesday 31 January 4pm-8pm AWSC Junior Coaching ​Whole basin

February 2023

​Day ​Time Reason for closure​ Area of basin being used​
​Thursday 2 February 2023 4pm-8pm AWSC Junior Coaching Whole basin
​Saturday 4 February 2023 8am-12pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Sunday 5 February 2023 9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Tuesday 7 February 2023 4pm-8pm AWSC Junior Coaching ​Whole basin
​Wednesday 8 February 2023 ​4pm-8pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Thursday 9 February 2023 4pm-8pm ​AWSC Junior Coaching ​Whole basin
​Saturday 11 February 2023 8am-12pm ​Summer Series Round 3 ​Whole basin
​Sunday 12 February 2023 ​9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Tuesday 14 February 2023 ​4pm-8pm ​AWSC Junior Coaching ​Whole basin
​Thursday 16 February 2023 ​4pm-8pm ​AWSC Junior Coaching ​Whole basin
​Friday 17 February 2023 ​Full day ​Tournament familiarisation ​Whole basin
​Saturday 18 February 2023 ​Full day ​Auckland Event 3 ​Whole basin
​Sunday 19 February 2023 ​Full day ​Auckland Event 3 ​Whole basin
​Tuesday 21 February 2023 ​4pm-8pm ​AWSC Junior Coaching ​Whole basin
​Wednesday 22  February 2023 ​4pm-8pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Thursday 23 February 2023 ​4pm-8pm ​AWSC Junior Coaching ​Whole basin
​Saturday 25 February 2023 ​Full day Waka Ama ​Whole basin
​Sunday 26 February 2023 ​Full day ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Monday 27 February 2023 ​Full day Tournament familiarisation ​Whole basin
​Tuesday 28 February 2023 ​Full day Tournament familiarisation ​Whole basin

March 2023

​Day ​Time Reason for closure​ Area of basin being used​
​Wednesday 1 March 2023 Full day Tournament familiarisation Whole basin
​Thursday 2 March 2023​Full day​International NZ Open (Juniors)​Whole basin
​Friday 3 March 2023 Full day International NZ Open (Juniors) ​Whole basin
​Saturday 4 March 2023 Full day International NZ Open ​Whole basin
​Sunday 5 March 2023 Full day International NZ Open ​Whole basin
​Tuesday 7 March 2023 ​4pm-8pm AWSC Junior Coaching ​Whole basin
​Thursday 9 March 2023 4pm-8pm AWSC Junior Coaching ​Whole basin
​Saturday 11 March 2023 8am-12pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Sunday 12 March 2023 ​9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Tuesday 14 March 2023 ​4pm-8pm AWSC Junior Coaching ​Whole basin
​Wednesday 15 March 2023 ​4pm-8pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Thursday 16 March 2023 ​4pm-8pm AWSC Junior Coaching ​Whole basin
​Saturday 18 March 2023 ​8am-12pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Sunday 19 March 2023 ​9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Tuesday 21 March 2023 ​4pm-8pm AWSC Junior Coaching ​Whole basin
​Thursday 23 March 2023 ​4pm-8pm AWSC Junior Coaching ​Whole basin
​Saturday 25 March 2023 ​8am-12pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Sunday 26 March 2023 ​9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Tuesday 28 March 2023 ​4pm-8pm AWSC Junior Coaching ​Whole basin
​Thursday 30 March 2023 ​4pm-8pm AWSC Junior Coaching ​Whole basin

April 2023

​Day ​Time Reason for closure​ Area of basin being used​
​Saturday 1 April 2023 8am-12pm ​Ski training Whole basin
​Sunday 2 April 2023 9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Saturday 15 April 2023 8am-12pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Sunday 16 April 2023 9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Saturday 29 April 2023 ​8am-12pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Sunday 30 April 2023 9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin

May 2023

​Day ​Time Reason for closure​ Area of basin being used​
​Friday 5 May 2023 Full day ​Tournament familiarisation Whole basin
​Saturday 6 May 2023 Full day Club Champs and Auckland Regionals ​Whole basin
​Sunday 7 May 2023 Full day Club Champs and Auckland Regionals ​Whole basin

For more information about water ski training bookings, email the Auckland Water Ski Club at office@awsc.co.nz, or phone the club on 09 520 1530.

How to make a booking

To make a booking for the basin, contact us.

 Related topics

 

 

Ōrākei Local Boardhttps://www.aucklandcouncil.govt.nz/about-auckland-council/how-auckland-council-works/local-boards/all-local-boards/orakei-local-boardŌrākei Local BoardFind out about Ōrākei Local Board contacts, plans, agreements and reports, news and events.aspx​Ōrākei Local Board
Ōrākei Basin flushing schedulehttps://www.aucklandcouncil.govt.nz/parks-recreation/get-outdoors/coastal-marine/Pages/orakei-basin-flushing-schedule.aspxŌrākei Basin flushing scheduleSee the latest dates for the flushing of the Ōrākei Basin.aspx
Ōrākei Basin Walkhttps://www.aucklandcouncil.govt.nz/parks-recreation/get-outdoors/find-a-walk/Pages/orakei-basin-walk.aspxŌrākei Basin WalkThis walk takes you around the Ōrākei Basin.aspx