Skip to main content

Ngā tāpuitanga me te wāteatanga mō

Ōrākei Basin bookings and public availability

Ōrākei Basin public availability

The basin is closed to the public when it is booked by the Auckland Water Ski Club. The dates it is booked are listed on this page.

At all other times, motorised vessels are only permitted on Ōrākei Basin if they are towing water skiers.

For more information, see the Harbourmaster section of the Auckland Transport website.

Auckland Water Ski Club bookings

September 2023

​Day ​Time Reason for closure​ Area of basin being used​
​Saturday 30 September 2023  8am-12pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin

October 2023

​Day ​Time Reason for closure​ Area of basin being used​
​Sunday 1 October 2023 ​9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin

Saturday 7 October 2023

8am-12pm Ski training Whole basin
Sunday 8 October 2023 9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
Wednesday 11 October 2023 4pm-8pm Ski training ​Whole basin
​Saturday 14 October 2023 8am-12pm AWSC Starter Ski School ​Whole basin
​Sunday 15 October 2023 ​9am-1pm Ski training ​Whole basin
​Wednesday 18 October 2023 4pm-8pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
Saturday 21 October 2023 8am-12pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
Sunday 22 October 2023 ​9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Wednesday 25 October 2023 ​4pm-8pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Saturday 28 October 2023 ​8am-12pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Sunday 29 October 2023 ​9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin

November 2023

​Day ​Time Reason for closure​ Area of basin being used​
​Wednesday 1 November 2023 4pm-8pm ​Ski training Whole basin
​Saturday 4 November 2023 Full day Waka Ama ​Whole basin
Sunday 5 November 2023 Full day ​Waka Ama ​Whole basin
​Wednesday 8 November 2023 4pm-8pm Ski training ​Whole basin
​Saturday 11 November 2023​Full day​​Electron Yachting World Championship​Whole basin
​Sunday 12 November 2023​​Full day​​​Electron Yachting World Championship​Whole basin
Wednesday 15 November 2023 ​4pm-8pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
Saturday 18 November 2023 8am-12pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Sunday 19 November 2023 ​9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Wednesday 22 November 2023 ​4pm-8pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Saturday 25 November 2023 ​8am-12pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Sunday 26 November 2023 ​9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Wednesday 29 November 2023 ​4pm-8pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin

December 2023

​Day ​Time Reason for closure​ Area of basin being used​
Saturday 2 December 2023 8am-12pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Sunday 3 December 2023 ​9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Wednesday 6 December 2023 ​4pm-8pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
Friday 8 December 2023 Full day ​Tournament Familiarisation ​Whole basin
Saturday 9 December 2023 ​Full day ​Auckland Season Starter (STJ) ​Whole basin
Sunday 10 December 2023 ​Full day ​Auckland Season Starter (STJ) ​Whole basin
​Wednesday 13 December 2023 4pm-8pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
Saturday 16 December 2023 ​4pm-8pm Ski training ​Whole basin
Sunday 17 December 2023 ​9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin

January 2024

​Day ​Time Reason for closure​ Area of basin being used​
​Saturday 13 January 2024 8am-12pm Ski training Whole basin
Sunday 14 January 2024 ​9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Wednesday 17 January 2024 4pm-8pm Ski training ​Whole basin
Saturday 20 January 2024 8am-12pm Summer Series Round 2 ​Whole basin
​Sunday 21 January 2024 9am-1pm Ski training ​Whole basin
​Wednesday 24 January 2024 8am-12pm Ski training ​Whole basin
Sunday 28 January 2024 9am-1pm Ski training ​Whole basin
Tuesday 30 January 2024 4pm-8pm ​AWSC Junior Coaching ​Whole basin

February 2024

​Day ​Time Reason for closure​ Area of basin being used​
Thursday 1 February 2024 4pm-8pm ​AWSC Junior Coaching Whole basin
​Saturday 3 February 2024 8am-12pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Sunday 4 February 2024 9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Tuesday 6 February 2024  4pm-8pm ​Waitangi Day ​Whole basin
​Wednesday 7 February 2024  4pm-8pm Ski training ​Whole basin
Thursday 8 February 2024 ​4pm-8pm ​AWSC Junior Coaching ​Whole basin
​Friday 9 February​Full day​Tournament Familiarisation​Whole basin
​Saturday 10 February 2024 Full day ​Auckland 3 Event ​Whole basin
​Sunday 11 February 2024 ​Full day ​Auckland 3 Event ​Whole basin
​Tuesday 13 February 2024 ​4pm-8pm ​AWSC Junior Coaching Whole basin​
​Thursday 15 February 2024 ​4pm-8pm ​AWSC Junior Coaching Whole basin
​Friday 16 February 2024 ​Full day ​Tournament Familiarisation ​Whole basin
​Saturday 17 February 2024 ​8am-12pm ​Summer Series Round 3 ​Whole basin
​Sunday 18 February 2024 9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Tuesday 20 February 2024 ​4pm-8pm ​AWSC Junior Coaching ​Whole basin
Wednesday 21 February 2024 ​4pm-8pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Thursday 22 February 2024 ​4pm-8pm AWSC Junior Coaching​ ​Whole basin
​Saturday 24 February 2024 8am-12pm​ ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Sunday 25 February 2024 ​9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Wednesday 28 February 2024 ​4pm-8pm Ski training ​Whole basin

March 2024

​Day ​Time Reason for closure​ Area of basin being used​
​Saturday 2 March 2024 8am-12pm ​Ski training Whole basin
​Sunday 3 March 2024 9am-1pm Ski training ​Whole basin
​Tuesday 5 March 2024 4pm-8pm AWSC Junior Coaching ​Whole basin
​Thursday 7 March 2024 4pm-8pm​ ​AWSC Junior Coaching ​Whole basin
​Saturday 9 March 2024 ​8am-12pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Sunday 10 March 2024 ​9am-1pm ​Ski training Whole basin
​Tuesday 12 March 2024 4pm-8pm​ ​AWSC Junior Coaching ​Whole basin
​Wednesday 13 March 2024 ​4pm-8pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
Thursday 14 March 2024​ ​4pm-8pm ​AWSC Junior Coaching ​Whole basin
​Saturday 16 March 2024 ​8am-12pm Ski training​ ​Whole basin
​Sunday 17 March 2024 ​9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Tuesday 19 March 2024 ​4pm-8pm AWSC Junior Coaching​ Whole basin​
​Thursday 21 March 2024 ​4pm-8pm ​AWSC Junior Coaching ​Whole basin
​Saturday 23 March 2024 ​8am-12pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Sunday 24 March 2024 ​9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
Tuesday 26 March 2024​ 4pm-8pm ​AWSC Junior Coaching Whole basin​
​Thursday 28 March 2024 ​4pm-8pm ​AWSC Junior Coaching ​Whole basin
​Saturday 30 March 2024 ​8am-12pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Sunday 31 March 2024 ​9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin

April 2024

​Day ​Time ​Reason for closure ​Area of basin being used
​Saturday 6 April 2024 ​8am-12pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Sunday 7 April 2024 ​9am-1pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Saturday 13 April 2024 ​8am-12pm ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Sunday 14 April 2024 9am-1pm​ Ski training​ ​Whole basin
​Friday 19 April 2024 ​Full day Tournament Familiarisation​ ​Whole basin
​Saturday 20 April 2024 ​Full day Auckland Trickjam (T) ​Whole basin
​Sunday 21 April 2024 ​Full day Auckland Trickjam (T)​ ​Whole basin
​Saturday 27 April 2024 8am-12pm​ ​Ski training ​Whole basin
​Sunday 28 April 2024 ​9am-1pm Ski training​ Whole basin​

May 2024

​Day ​Time ​Reason for closure ​Area of basin being used
​Friday 3 May 2024 ​Full day ​Tournament Familiarisation ​Whole basin
​Saturday 4 May 2024 ​Full day Clubs Champs and Auckland Regionals ​ ​Whole basin
​Sunday 5 May 2024 ​Full day ​Clubs Champs and Auckland Regionals ​Whole basin

For more information about water ski training bookings, email the Auckland Water Ski Club at office@awsc.co.nz, or phone the club on 09 520 1530.

How to make a booking

To make a booking for the basin, contact us.

 Related topics

 

 

Ōrākei Local Boardhttps://www.aucklandcouncil.govt.nz/about-auckland-council/how-auckland-council-works/local-boards/all-local-boards/orakei-local-boardŌrākei Local BoardLearn about Ōrākei Local Board, contact local board members, view plans agreements and reports and read local board news and events.aspxOrganisations and bodies Local boards
Ōrākei Basin flushing schedulehttps://www.aucklandcouncil.govt.nz/parks-recreation/get-outdoors/coastal-marine/Pages/orakei-basin-flushing-schedule.aspxŌrākei Basin flushing scheduleSee the latest dates for the flushing of the Ōrākei Basin.aspx
Ōrākei Basin Walkhttps://www.aucklandcouncil.govt.nz/parks-recreation/get-outdoors/find-a-walk/Pages/orakei-basin-walk.aspxŌrākei Basin WalkThis walk takes you around the Ōrākei Basin.aspx