Skip to main content
COVID-19 information For information about COVID-19, visit covid19.govt.nz.
For the current status of council services and closures - Learn moreCOVID-19 information
Water restrictions in Auckland More Water restrictions are in effect across the Auckland region. Learn moreWater restrictions in Auckland

Ōrākei Basin bookings and public availability

Ōrākei Basin public availability

The basin is closed to the public when it is booked by the Auckland Water Ski Club. The dates it is booked are listed on this page.

At all other times, motorised vessels are only permitted on Ōrākei Basin if towing water skiers.

For more information, see the Harbourmaster section of the Auckland Transport website.

Auckland Water Ski Club bookings

February 2020

​Day​Time​Reason for closure​Area of basin being used
​Saturday 1 February​Full day​Auckland Trick and Jump​Whole basin
​Sunday 2 February​Full day​Auckland Trick and Jump​Whole basin
​Wednesday 5 February​4pm-8pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Saturday 8 February​8am-12pm​Summer Series Round three​Whole basin
​Sunday 9 February​9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
Wednesday 12 February​4pm-8pm​Schools team training​Whole basin
​Saturday 15 February​8am-12pm​Ski training​Whole basin
​Sunday 16 February​9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Wednesday 19 February​4pm-8pm​Schools team training​Whole basin
​Saturday 22 February​8am-12pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Sunday 23 February​9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Wednesday 26 February​4pm-8pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Saturday 29 February​Full day​College Sport Waka Ama​Whole basin

March 2020

​Day

​Time​Reason for closure​Area of basin being used
​Wednesday 4 March​4pm-8pm​Schools team training​Whole basin
​Saturday 7 March​8am-12pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Sunday 8 March​9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Wednesday 11 March​4pm-8pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Saturday 14 March​8am-12pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Sunday 15 March​9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Wednesday 18 March​4pm-8pm​Schools team training​Whole basin
​Saturday 21 March​8am-12pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Sunday 22 March​9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Wednesday 25 March​4pm-8pm​Ski trainingWhole basin
​Thursday 26 March​8am-12pm​TWSA Ski School​Whole basin
​Friday 27 March​Full day​TWSA Ski School​Whole basin
​Saturday 28 March​Full day​NZ Open​Whole basin
​Sunday 29 March ​Full dayNZ Open​Whole basin

April 2020

​Day​TimeReason for closure​Area of basin being used​
Wednesday 1 April​4pm-8pm​Schools team training​Whole basin
​Saturday 4 April​8am-12pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Sunday 5 April9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Wednesday 8 April4pm-8pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Saturday 11 April8am-12pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Sunday 12 April​9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
Wednesday 15 April​4pm-8pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Saturday 18 April​8am-12pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Sunday 19 April​9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Wednesday 22 April​4pm-8pm​Schools team training​Motorised zone
​Saturday 25 April​Full day​Club Champs​Whole basin
​Sunday 26 April​Full day​Club ChampsWhole basin

 May 2020

​Day​Time​Reason for closure​Area of basin being used
​Saturday 2 May​8am-12pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Sunday 3 May​9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Saturday 9 May​8am-12pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Sunday 10 May9am-1pm​Ski trainingMotorised zone

For more information about water ski training bookings, email the Auckland Water Ski Club at office@awsc.co.nz, or phone the club on 09 520 1530.

How to make a booking

To make a booking for the basin, contact us

 Related topics

 

 

Ōrākei Local Boardhttps://www.aucklandcouncil.govt.nz/about-auckland-council/how-auckland-council-works/local-boards/all-local-boards/orakei-local-boardŌrākei Local BoardFind out about Ōrākei Local Board contacts, plans, agreements and reports, news and events.aspx
Ōrākei Basin Walkhttps://www.aucklandcouncil.govt.nz/parks-recreation/get-outdoors/find-a-walk/Pages/orakei-basin-walk.aspxŌrākei Basin WalkThis walk takes you around the Ōrākei Basin.aspx
Ōrākei Basin flushing schedulehttps://www.aucklandcouncil.govt.nz/parks-recreation/get-outdoors/coastal-marine/Pages/orakei-basin-flushing-schedule.aspxŌrākei Basin flushing scheduleSee the latest dates for the flushing of the Ōrākei Basin.aspx
Ōrākei Local Boardhttps://www.aucklandcouncil.govt.nz/have-your-say/topics-you-can-have-your-say-on/annual-budget-2020-2021/Pages/orakei-local-board.aspxŌrākei Local BoardŌrākei Local Board's key priorities 2020/2021.aspx