Skip to main content
COVID-19 Alert Level 1 Visitors to our buildings should check in using the NZ COVID Tracer app or register manually.
For the current status of council services and closures - Learn moreCOVID-19 Alert Level 1
Water restrictions in Auckland More Water restrictions are in effect across the Auckland region. Learn moreWater restrictions in Auckland

Ōrākei Basin bookings and public availability

Ōrākei Basin public availability

The basin is closed to the public when it is booked by the Auckland Water Ski Club. The dates it is booked are listed on this page.

At all other times, motorised vessels are only permitted on Ōrākei Basin if towing water skiers.

For more information, see the Harbourmaster section of the Auckland Transport website.

Auckland Water Ski Club bookings

September 2020

​Day​Time​Reason for closure​Area of basin being used
​Saturday 26 September​8am-12pmSki training​Motorised zone
​Sunday 27 September ​9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone

October 2020

​Day​Time​Reason for closure​Area of basin being used
​Saturday 3 October​8am-12pm​AWS Starter Ski School​Whole basin
​Sunday 4 October​9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Wednesday 7 October​4pm-8pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Saturday 10 October​8am-12pm​Ski trainingMotorised zone
​Sunday 11 October​9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
Wednesday 14 October​4pm-8pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Saturday 17 October​8am-12pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Sunday 18 October​9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Wednesday 21 October​4pm-8pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Saturday 24 October​8am-12pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Sunday 25 October​9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Wednesday 28 October​4pm-8pm​Schools team training​Whole basin
​Saturday 31 October​8am-12pm​Ski training​Motorised zone

November 2020

​Day

​Time​Reason for closure​Area of basin being used
​Sunday 1 November​9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Wednesday 4 November​4pm-8pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Sunday 8 November​9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Wednesday 11 November​4pm-8pm​Ski training​Whole basin
​Saturday 14 November​Full day​Summer series round 1Whole basin
​Sunday 15 November​9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Wednesday 18 November​4pm-8pm​Ski trainingMotorised zone
​Saturday 21 November​8am-12pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Sunday 22 November​9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Wednesday 25 November​4pm-8pm​Ski training​Whole basin
Saturday 28 November​Full dayAuckland Slalom​Whole basin
​​Sunday 29 November Full day​Auckland Slalom​Whole basin

December 2020

​Day​TimeReason for closure​Area of basin being used​
Wednesday 2 December​4pm-8pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Saturday 5 December​8am-12pm​Ski training​Whole basin
​Sunday 6 December9am-1pm​Ski training​Whole basin
​Wednesday 9 December4pm-8pm​Ski training​Whole basin
​Saturday 12 DecemberFull day​Summer series round two​Whole basin
​Sunday 13 December​9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
Wednesday 16 December​4pm-8pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Saturday 19 December​8am-12pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Sunday 20 December​9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone

January 2021

​Day​TimeReason for closure​Area of basin being used​
​Sunday 10 January9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
Wednesday 13 January​4pm-8pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Saturday 16 January​8am-12pm​Ski trainingMotorised zone
​Sunday 17 January9am-1pm​Ski trainingMotorised zone
​Wednesday 20 January4pm-8pm​Ski training​Whole basin
​Saturday 23 January8am-12pm​Ski training​Whole basin
​Sunday 24 January​9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
Wednesday 27 January​4pm-8pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Thursday 28 January ​4pm-8pmAWSC Junior Coaching​Motorised zone
​Saturday 30 January​8am-12pm​Ski trainingWhole basin
​Sunday 31 January​9am-1pm​Ski training​Whole basin

February 2021

​Day​TimeReason for closure​Area of basin being used​
Tuesday 2 February​4pm-8pm​AWSC Junior Coaching​Motorised zone
​Friday 5 February​4pm-8pm​AWSC Club Night​Motorised zone
​Saturday 6 February​8am-12pm​Summer series round 3​Whole basin
​Sunday 7 February9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Wednesday 10 February4pm-8pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Thursday 11 February​4pm-8pm​AWSC Junior Coaching​Motorised zone
​Friday 12 February​4pm-8pm​AWSC Club Night​Motorised zone
​Saturday 13 February8am-12pm​Ski training​Whole basin
​Sunday 14 February​9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Tuesday 16 February​4pm-8pm​AWSC Junior Coaching​Motorised zone
Wednesday 17 February​4pm-8pm​Ski training​Whole basin
​Saturday 20 February​Full dayAuckland Trick and Jump​Whole basin
​Sunday 21 FebruaryFull day​Auckland Trick and Jump​Whole basin
​Wednesday 24 February​4pm-8pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Thursday 25 February​4pm-8pm​AWSC Junior Coaching​Motorised zone
​Sunday 28 February9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone

March 2021

​Day​TimeReason for closure​Area of basin being used​
Tuesday 2 March​4pm-8pm​AWSC Junior Coaching​Motorised zone
​Friday 5 March​4pm-8pm​AWSC Club Night​Whole basin
​Saturday 6 March​8am-12pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Sunday 7 March9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Wednesday 10 March4pm-8pm​Ski training​Whole basin
​Thursday 11 March​8am-12pm​TWSA Ski School​Whole basin
​Friday 12 March​Full day​TWSA Ski School​Whole basin
​Saturday 13 MarchFull day​NZ Open​Whole basin
​Sunday 14 March​Full day​NZ Open​Whole basin
Wednesday 17 March​4pm-8pm​Ski training​Whole basin
​Thursday 18 March​4pm-8pm​AWSC Junior Coaching​Motorised zone
​Saturday 20 March​8am-12pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Sunday 21 March​9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Tuesday 23 March​4pm-8pm​AWSC Junior Coaching​Motorised zone
​Wednesday 24 March​4pm-8pm​Ski training​Whole basin
​Friday 26 March​4pm-8pm​AWSC Club Night​Motorised zone
​Saturday 27 March ​8am-12pm​Ski training​Whole basin
​Sunday 28 March​9am-1pm​Ski training​Whole basin
​Wednesday 31 March​4pm-8pm​Ski training​Whole basin

April 2021

​Day​TimeReason for closure​Area of basin being used​
​Saturday 3 April​8am-12pm​Ski trainingMotorised zone
​Sunday 4 April9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Saturday 10 April8am-12pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Sunday 11 April​9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
Wednesday 14 April​4pm-8pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Saturday 17 AprilFull day​Club ChampsWhole basin
​Sunday 18 AprilFull day​Club ChampsWhole basin
Wednesday 21 April​4pm-8pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Saturday 24 April​8am-12pm​Ski training​Motorised zone
​Sunday 25 April​9am-1pm​Ski training​Motorised zone

May 2021

​Day​TimeReason for closure​Area of basin being used​
​Saturday 1 May​8am-12pm​Ski trainingMotorised zone
​Sunday 2 May9am-1pm​Ski trainingMotorised zone

For more information about water ski training bookings, email the Auckland Water Ski Club at office@awsc.co.nz, or phone the club on 09 520 1530.

How to make a booking

To make a booking for the basin, contact us

 Related topics

 

 

Ōrākei Local Boardhttps://www.aucklandcouncil.govt.nz/about-auckland-council/how-auckland-council-works/local-boards/all-local-boards/orakei-local-boardŌrākei Local BoardFind out about Ōrākei Local Board contacts, plans, agreements and reports, news and events.aspx
Ōrākei Local Boardhttps://www.aucklandcouncil.govt.nz/have-your-say/topics-you-can-have-your-say-on/annual-budget-2020-2021/Pages/orakei-local-board.aspxŌrākei Local BoardŌrākei Local Board's key priorities 2020/2021.aspx
Ōrākei Basin flushing schedulehttps://www.aucklandcouncil.govt.nz/parks-recreation/get-outdoors/coastal-marine/Pages/orakei-basin-flushing-schedule.aspxŌrākei Basin flushing scheduleSee the latest dates for the flushing of the Ōrākei Basin.aspx
Ōrākei Basin Walkhttps://www.aucklandcouncil.govt.nz/parks-recreation/get-outdoors/find-a-walk/Pages/orakei-basin-walk.aspxŌrākei Basin WalkThis walk takes you around the Ōrākei Basin.aspx