Skip to main content

He Kōrero mō Waiheke

About Waiheke

The Waiheke Local Board area includes, in addition to Waiheke Island, the islands of Rangitoto, Motutapu, Motokorea, Motuihe, Ponui, Rakino, and a number of smaller islands.

Character of the Waiheke Local Board area

Some islands in the Waiheke Local Board area are uninhabited reserves, while others are favoured places for permanent or holiday residences.

Waiheke is the largest island in the grouping. The island has around 40km of beaches and the eastern part of the island is predominantly farmland, vineyards and a regional park. The island's residents are united in their love of the island's environments.

In the summer, the population on many of the islands swells due to visitors and tourists seeking to make use of the open space, sandy beaches and boutique vineyards. More than 900,000 visitors visit Waiheke island each year.

Rangitoto is the youngest volcanic cone in the Auckland area and is a regional icon. The island is a popular visitor destination and a public reserve managed by the Department of Conservation.

Download map showing Waiheke Local Board boundaries

​Further information about Waiheke

The State of Auckland report provides information on the state of Waiheke's environment as well as demographic and quality of life information in report cards produced by council.

Waiheke's economic profile provides information on the economy including employment and workforce statistics, number and type of businesses and productivity levels.

Waiheke Island walkways

For the first time, the network of walking tracks around Waiheke has been linked into a continuous 100km route all around the island.

It's the best way to see the real Waiheke, one step at a time.

Start and finish where you like. Walk in either direction.

Te Ara Hura can be a challenging multi-day adventure – or easily walked in stages at your own pace.