Skip to main content
Auckland Council

Current fire status

View the fire status for your area

Auckland Rural mainland - Restricted fire season. You need a fire permit to light a fire in the open air.

Hauraki Gulf Islands - Prohibited fire season. Conservation Islands remain in a Prohibited Fire Season (total fire ban) at all times.

Residential - You cannot light outdoor fires in residential or business areas at any time. Read the rules.

Public land - It is illegal to light any open fires or discharge any fireworks in public places in the Auckland region. Read the exceptions.