Skip to main content
COVID-19 Alert Level 1 Visitors to our buildings should check in using the NZ COVID Tracer app or register manually.
For the current status of council services and closures - Learn moreCOVID-19 Alert Level 1
Water restrictions in Auckland More Water restrictions are in effect across the Auckland region. Learn moreWater restrictions in Auckland

He aha te hōtaka whakahaere ā-motu?

What is a national programme?

​​A national programme sets out the steps for food businesses to follow, to make kai that is safe to eat.

Businesses making or selling lower-risk kai are more likely to register under a national programme.

There are three levels of national programmes, which are based on the food safety risk of the activities a business does:

  • Level 1 – lower risk
  • Level 2 – medium risk
  • Level 3 – higher risk.

Our tip

To work out whether you should register your business under a national programme, use the Ministry of Primary Industries' tool My food rules.

For additional guidance resources use the Food Safety toolkit.

For translations see Forms and templates.

 Related topics



Apply for food registration for food registrationGuide to applying for food registration and choosing the food plan that suits your business.Guideaspx
Food safety training requirements safety training requirementsFind out about the requirement for staff to attend a food safety course. aspx
Apply for verification for your food business for verification for your food businessAll registered food businesses need to be checked. This is referred to as verification.aspx
Running a home-based food business a home-based food businessFind out what factors you need to consider before opening a home-based food business.aspx
Taking over an existing food business over an existing food businessFind out what you need to do when you take over an existing food business.aspx
What is a food control plan? is a food control plan?Find out what a food control plan​ is.aspx