Skip to main content
Auckland Council

Freedom Camping Bylaw 2015

This bylaw sets restrictions around freedom camping, to ensure our spaces can be enjoyed by all.

You should know

In 2017 we reviewed our approach to managing freedom camping. Findings from the review led us to a decision to develop a new bylaw under the Freedom Camping Act 2011.

We will ask your views as part of this process by providing a link from this page, and will let you know of the outcome when the review is finished.

​What the Freedom Camping Bylaw does

The bylaw prohibits freedom camping, except in designated areas.

Any freedom camping in designated areas must be in accordance with any conditions applicable for that area.

Get a copy of the Freedom Camping Bylaw