Skip to main content
Voting in the 2022 local elections is open now until 12 noon Saturday 8 October.
More Check your letterbox for voting documents. Learn moreVoting in the 2022 local elections is open now until 12 noon Saturday 8 October.

Te Rōpū Kaitohutohu Taonga Tuku Iho

Heritage Advisory Panel

The role of the Heritage Advisory Panel

The Heritage Advisory Panel helps us to strengthen our approach to heritage management. It promotes a shared understanding of how our historic heritage should be identified, managed, protected, conserved, appreciated and celebrated.

The focus of the Heritage Advisory Panel is on historic heritage.

This includes:

  • cultural heritage
  • historic sites
  • structures
  • places
  • objects and areas and their surrounds,
  • archaeological sites.

Meet the panel members

The panel members for 2019-2022 are:

  • Elizabeth Aitken-Rose
  • Steve Bielby (Deputy Chairperson)
  • Noelene Buckland
  • John Burns
  • Bridget Graham
  • Caleb Hamilton
  • Sally Hughes (Chairperson)
  • Margot McRae
  • Sherry Reynolds
  • Nicola Short (Deputy Chairperson)
  • Lisa Truttman
  • Dave Veart
  • Graeme Burgess
  • Rākeiao Skerrett

Meetings of the panel

The Heritage Advisory Panel holds scheduled meetings every two months.

Scheduled meetings are open to the public.

For dates, agendas and minutes, see agendas and minutes.

Heritage Advisory Panel Terms of Reference

​Get in touch with the panel

To attend or present at a meeting of the Heritage Advisory Panel, or find more information, email