Skip to main content
Auckland Council
Site outage this evening from 5pm for 15 minutes
We will perform some maintenance of our website between 5pm and 5.15pm on Thursday 17 October. We apologise for the inconvenience.

Environment and Community Committee

Te Komiti Taiao ā-Hapori Hoki

You should know

We are currently reviewing the governance structure for the 2019-2022 term. The Governing Body will confirm any changes on 1 November 2019.

What the Environment and Community Committee does

This committee deals with strategy and policy decision-making that relates to the environmental, social, economic and cultural activities of Auckland, including:

  • climate change
  • biodiversity and ecological management
  • the Southern Initiative
  • parks
  • community facilities including sports facilities and libraries
  • waste minimisation
  • economic development.


To be confirmed.

Deputy Chairperson

Alf Filipaina

All councillors are members of this committee.

Independent Māori Statutory Board members

James Brown

Renata Blair

Senior Governance Advisor

Suad Allie

09 977 6953 or 021 706 380


See dates and times of meetings in the current year.

See agendas and minutes of past meetings.