Skip to main content
Auckland CouncilVote Auckland

Te āhua mahi a te Kaunihera o Tāmaki Makaurau

How Auckland Council works

Political decision-making at Auckland Council is shared between the mayor and 20 councillors (our Governing Body) and the 21 local boards.

Auckland Council explained

Our model of local government helps meet both regional and local needs, and gives Auckland the resources it needs to grow and develop.

We have two complementary decision-making parts:

  • the Governing Body
  • local boards.

Each part is autonomous and makes decisions within their areas of responsibility.

Although they make different types of decisions, there is an active working relationship between the Governing Body and the local boards.

Elected members

The mayor

The mayor is elected by all Auckland voters and leads the Governing Body.

Governing Body

The Governing Body focuses on the big picture and on region-wide strategic decisions.

The Governing Body consists of the mayor and 20 ward councillors, elected by voters from the 13 Auckland wards.


The Governing Body establishes committees to enable effective decision-making.

Local boards

Local boards represent the communities in their area and make decisions on local issues, activities, and facilities.

Each of the 21 local boards has between five and nine members, elected by voters from the area they represent.

Each local board also elects a chairperson and a deputy chairperson.

Watch a video about how Auckland Council works


​Read the full transcript of this video.

 Explore more Local elections 2022 topics



Why you should vote in the local elections you should vote in the local electionsRead some quick facts about the local elections, learn how elected members make decisions that affect many aspects of your life and your local community and why your vote is important.aspx
Key dates for the 2022 local election dates for the 2022 local electionView the key dates for Local elections 2022.aspx
About local boards local boardsFind out what local boards are, their responsibilities, documents and processes.aspxLocal boards
About wards wardsAuckland has been split into 13 wards, from which 20 ward councillors are elected to the governing body of Auckland Council. aspxWards