Skip to main content
Auckland Council

Types of subdivision of property

Ngā Āhua wawaetanga whenua

There are three common types of titles:

  1. Fee simple – the most common form of subdivision. It divides an existing property into two or more sections
  2. Unit title – this gives individual titles to housing units over an existing piece of land. The housing units have a body corporate and the units usually share in the common property such as driveways, gardens, etc.
  3. Cross-lease – previously common, less desirable today. A lease is created over each unit, which is called a "flat". Each flat owner has shared ownership of the property.