Skip to main content

Ngā whakamahuki mō te Kaunihera o Tāmaki Makaurau

Auckland Council explained

Political decision-making at Auckland Council is shared between the mayor and 20 councillors (our Governing Body) and the 21 local boards.

​Our model of local government

Our model of local government helps meet both regional and local needs, and gives Auckland the resources it needs to grow and develop.

We have two complementary decision-making parts:

Each part is autonomous and makes decisions within their areas of responsibility.

Although they make different types of decisions, there is an active working relationship between the Governing Body and the local boards.

Elected members

The mayor

The mayor is elected by all Auckland voters and leads the Governing Body.

Governing Body

 The Governing Body focuses on the big picture and on region-wide strategic decisions.

The Governing Body consists of the mayor and 20 ward councillors, elected by voters from the 13 Auckland wards.


The Governing Body establishes committees to enable effective decision-making.

Local boards

Local boards represent the communities in their area and make decisions on local issues, activities and facilities.

Each of the 21 local boards has between five and nine members, elected by voters from the area they represent.

Each local board also elects a chairperson and a deputy chairperson.

Auckland Council organisation

The Auckland Council organisation is led by the chief executive, who works closely with the mayor.

The chief executive appoints an executive leadership team who direct organisational staff.

The organisation as a whole is responsible for our operation and service delivery, advising the Governing Body and local boards and carrying out their decisions.

Council-controlled organisations (CCOs)

CCOs look after specific council assets, services or infrastructure.

The CCOs operate separately but are accountable to the Governing Body, which sets their direction and monitors their performance.

Independent Māori Statutory Board (IMSB)

The IMSB ensures there is a voice for Māori in the governance of Auckland, and advises us on making informed decisions and meeting our statutory obligations in relation to the Treaty of Waitangi.

Members of the IMSB sit on each committee dealing with natural and physical resources, and may be appointed to others.

The IMSB is independent of Auckland Council.

Advisory panels

We are also advised by a range of advisory panels, which identify and communicate to us the interests and preferences of specific groups of Aucklanders.

Co-management authorities and external partnerships

We work with different co-management authorities and external partners: central government, our communities, mana whenua and neighbouring councils to ensure the best outcomes for Auckland across a wide variety of areas.

Watch a video about why we have a council


Read the full transcript of this video.

Watch this video in New Zealand Sign Language.


Watch a video about how Auckland Council works


​Read the full transcript of this video.

 Related topics



Advisory panels panelsAdvisory panels communicate to us the interests and preferences of the community relating to specific portfolios. aspxAdvisory panels
Information related to elected members related to elected membersElected members' declarations of interest, remuneration and expenses, code of conduct and satisfaction surveys.aspxElected representatives
Kaupapa Māori MāoriFind out about our specific legislative responsibilities to Māori across many of our functions.aspxOrganisations and bodies
Executive team teamAbout our executive team and executive team members.aspxExecutive team
Council-controlled organisations organisationsFind out about Auckland Transport, Auckland Unlimited, Panuku Development, Ports of Auckland, Watercare, legacy CCOs and the CCO governance manual.aspxCouncil-controlled organisations
Local boards boardsLearn about local boards, how to find your local board, a list of local boards and how to contact local board members.aspxLocal boards